Dimensional Bodies

Dimensional Bodies

            This week’s film was more like a narrated 3D slide show than an actual movie.  But in a sense it can be called a film, because film was used to capture the interesting images that Johunna Grayson and Greta Snider presented.  This film was completely different from anything I have ever seen before, and I really enjoyed the photography.  With the 3D glasses I really felt like I was in there and the people were talking to me.

            Going into the presentation I did not know what to expect, especially when I was handed 3D glasses.  But once the film started rolling I realized that the pictures and the voices of those in the photos would be telling their life story, or at least a major part of it.  I thought the idea of using 3D was pretty creative, however I got a headache because it was not always in focus, and I had a really hard time seeing the images.  This of course is all a part of the experimental process, as Snider and Grayson would say after the film.  I thought the photography was very good, I just had a hard time seeing it, partly because the gentlemen in front of me was blocking the screen, and also the blurriness of them made me go cross-eyed which made the screening a lot less enjoyable.  However, the idea of going 3D was brilliant.  For example, one of the stories was a man who had a broken back.  The pictures of him were all in a forest-like backdrop and with the 3D I felt like I could reach out and touch the leaves.  It made the stories much more personal, as though they were right behind me talking to me.

            This screening was defined by the photography in a sense.  The angles and the technique made it very unique. Snider said, “The stereoscopic aspect of the projection puts additional emphasis on the physical experience of viewing, accentuating the physiology of image processing and creating a sense of physical self-consciousness in the viewer and thus the perfect environment for experiencing the portraits” (Dimensional Bodies).  As an audience member I think she portrayed that very well.  There was a nice flow of movement that I could see, even if it was hard at times to see it clearly. 

            Also, their experimentation was evident throughout the slides.  Some slides would have a different exposure, some darker and some would just be objects.  In the program that we got that night it said, “We are particularly interested in the ‘motion’ aspect of the hand-processed texture (which create slight textural differences between the two stereo images, and create a feeling of movement as a viewers eyes balance them).”  I could absolutely see that and as stated above there was a nice fluidity to the slides.  The blurriness came from this experimentation with the stereos and the overlapping of two different images.  I don’t really know much about making a 3D image, but I was really amazed when Snider said after the film that they had to focus the photos live to create the 3D affect, which explains why they were sometimes blurred in and out of focus.

            Overall this was a very unique experience.  Something I would have probably never seen otherwise, but I am glad I did.  I now know that a film doesn’t have to be a movie.  After this film I was really confused and did not really get it, but after reflecting for a few days, I began to see and understand the art behind it and was really glad I saw it.  Who knows, maybe I’ll go see another Snider and Grayso screening.

Bibliography

“Dimensional Bodies.” SFSataion. 6 Nov. 2008 <http://www.sfstation.com/dimensional-bodies-e430221&gt;.

Leave a Reply

